Are Doritos Vegan?

Doritos are that perfect go to crisp for an evening in or  even when you are entertaining, they go perfectly with a tasty vegan chill…but is it vegan? 

In this article you will find out which of your favorite Doritos are Vegan and which ones you will need to avoid from now on. 

Which Doritos are currently Vegan?

Unfortunately for those of us that love to snack on Doritos, there are only three flavors that currently meet the set requirements to be potentially Vegan.

You will not find any Vegan sticker though. Some very strict vegans may also consider the blaze and Spicy, sweet Doritos not to be Vegan due to their natural flavors and coloring’s.

  • Blaze Doritos 
  • Spicy Sweet Doritos Doritos
  • Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips 100% Vegan 

For companies to state whether their products are vegan or not they have set criteria which they have to meet. In this instance there are 4 key things that will ensure you are eating a product that is completely vegan:

  1. Dairy free
  2. No egg
  3. No animal products 
  4. Organic Sugar ( Vegan approved ) 

So, Doritos although being exceptionally popular they appear to be only suitable for people who do not follow a Vegan Diet. This is due to the very high dairy products that are used in nearly all of the Dorito flavors.

They also use food coloring which is not considered vegan as well as some of the flavors having a real chicken flavoring. 

Can Vegans eat Doritos? Or should we just make our own?

Vegan Doritos in the UK

  • Dortios Lightly salted 
  • Chilli Heatwave Doritos 
  • BBQ and Chilli Doritos 

Most Popular Doritos that are not Vegan:

  • Nacho Cheese Doritos
  • Cool Ranch Doritos
  • Salsa Verde Doritos
  • Poppin’ Jalapeno Doritos
  • Blazin’Buffalo Ranch Doritos

Can Doritos be Plant Based but not Vegan?

There is some debate whether something is plant based and or vegan and the one ingredient that continuously appears to be under scrutiny here is sugar.

The sugar that is currently used in Doritos is considered to be plant based but not necessarily vegan. This is due to the possibility of bone char having possibly been used within the sugar that they use. 

Vegan Friendly Doritos:

Below is an up to date list (when writing) of which Dorito flavors are currently vegan:

Blaze Doritos , Spicy Sweet Doritos,Doritos & Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips.

Which Doritos should Vegans avoid? 

Below is an up to date list (when writing) of which Doritos are currently not vegan:

Blazin’Buffalo & Ranch Doritos, Cool Ranch Doritos, Dinamita Chile Limon Rolled Doritos, Doritos Collisions – Blaze & Ultimate Cheddar, Flamas Doritos, Flamin’Hot Nacho Doritos, Doritos Flavor Shots – Nacho Cheese Covered Peanuts, Doritos Flavor Shots – Fiery Habenero Triangles, Doritos Flavour Shots – Flamin’ Hot Nacho Cheese Covered Peanuts, Jacked Ranch Dipped Hot Wings Doritos, Nacho Cheese Doritos, Poppin’ Jalapeno Doritos, Salsa Verde Doritos, Simply Organic White Cheddar Doritos, Spicy Nacho Doritos,Taco Flavoured Doritos, Tapatio Doritos, Wasabi Doritos, Chilli heatwave Doritos and  BBQ Doritos. 

Wasabi flavored Doritos are not Vegan.

Outline of common ingredients found in Cool Ranch Doritos: 

Corn, Vegetable Oil (Corn, Canola (Also known as rapeseed oil), and/or Sunflower Oil), Maltodextrin (Made from Corn), Salt, Tomato Powder, Corn Starch, Lactose, Whey, Skim Milk, Corn Syrup Solids, Onion Powder, Sugar, Garlic Powder, Monosodium Glutamate, Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Dextrose, Malic Acid, Buttermilk, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Sodium Acetate, Artificial Color (Including Red 40, Blue 1, Yellow 5), Sodium Caseinate, Spice, Citric Acid, Disodium Inosinate, and Disodium Guanylate.

Other Tortilla Vegan Chips:

  • Taco Bell Tortilla Chips
  • Enjoy Life Plentils
  • Fritos Original Corn Chips
  • Ruffles All Dressed
  • Kettle Brand Chips
  • Manomasa Chipotle & Lime 
  • Gran Luchito Tortilla Chips

Homemade Tortilla Chip Recipes:

Did you know that making homemade tortillas is so easy, plus soo tasty having them fresh out of the frying pan. OK so maybe not super healthy but everyone deserves a little treat every now and again.

Just grab your favorite vegan tortilla brand – we often use a supermarkets own brand and then a splash of olive oil (the more oil the crispier but also greasier they get – we find we prefer less oil, but really it’s down to personal preference) to a non stick frying pan.

Let the oil get hot and then fry on both sides for 1 to 2 minutes We love serving them with our homemade SALSA  and Guac-a-mole! 

Our Vegan Salsa Recipe:

Serves 4


  • 350g Mix of plum and cherry tomatoes ( we love to use different coloured tomatoes where possible) 
  • Salt & Pepper 
  • Fresh finely chopped red chilli 
  • A splash of red wine vinegar 
  • Finely chopped coriander (save a few leaves for placing on top)  
  • 2 spring onions finely chopped


First weigh and chop all ingredients and then mix into a bowl with the splash of vinegar. Add extra chillies if you like it spicy! 

Our Guac – a – MOLE! Recipe:

Serves 4 (or 2 for a huge dollop) 


  • Half a lime
  • 2 medium/large avocados (partly mashed)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Handful of Cherry tomatoes diced
  • Sprinkle of dried crushed chillies
  • Handful of chopped coriander


First grab yourself a decent sized bowl. De-stone and add the avocado flesh to your bowl. Then use a fork to carefully mash your avocado, the softer the better ( be careful this can get a little messy).

Next add your lime, salt, pepper and chilies. Stir these carefully together and viola just add your chopped tomatoes and coriander and there you have your Guac – a – MOLE!

Finally, carefully tip the contents into a bowl . You are now ready for your Guac – a – mole fiesta! 


Which Dorito flavours are vegan?

Currently toasted corn, spicy sweet chili and blaze are the only Vegan Dorito options available. You can of course get other tortilla branded chips that are vegan. 

Why are Doritos not vegan?

Due to either rennet or dairy being one or both of their ingredients. Rennet is derived from animals and therefore not vegetarian let alone vegan.  

What chips are vegan?

There are many chips out there that are vegan, kettle chips, fritos, taco bell classic are just a few. Check the packaging first and look out for dairy and rennet as the ingredients PETA have a great guide to chips that are vegan

What junk foods are vegan?

There are so many varieties of junk food and healthy food that are now vegan below are just a few tasters: 

  • Sourpatch kids 
  • Ritz crackers
  • Kettle Brand Chips (not all flavours but most) 
  • Oreos
  • Fritos

Are Doritos Vegetarian?

Vegetarians will be able to eat the same Doritos as Vegans ( toasted corn, spicy sweet chilli and blaze) plus the Salsa Verde Doritos.

Being able to eat any of the Doritos that only contain milk, dairy products but not the Doritos that contain the natural chicken flavoring which some do. 

So, are Doritos Vegan?

Summary … Are Doritos Vegan friendly?

Unfortunately no on the whole they are not, with many of their Doritos containing a whole array of differing animal products. Dairy is their most common non-vegan ingredient, but there are also non vegetarian ingredients used such as natural chicken flavoring. 

However, there are always new flavors appearing, so keep your eyes peeled, as,as veganism becomes more and more popular I am sure they’ll be a new vegan flavor hitting the supermarket shelves soon enough.

But for now due to there being very few Doritos that are vegan, we would consider them to not be vegan friendly.

You are probably better off making your own tortilla chips or sourcing your tortilla chips from elsewhere where they have more vegan options.

Is Marmite Vegan?

Marmite is a yeast extract spread that is made from yeast extract and various vegetable and fruit extracts. It is a thick, dark brown paste

Read More »

Leave a Reply