Is Marmite Vegan?

Marmite is a yeast extract spread that is made from yeast extract and various vegetable and fruit extracts. It is a thick, dark brown paste with a strong, salty flavor. However is it vegan? In this article, you will find out whether marmite is vegan or not, read on to find out, Is Marmite Vegan?

Love it or hate it … but is marmite really Vegan?

Since marmite is made with yeast extract and does not contain animal products, it can be consumed by vegetarians and vegans alike. Marmite is not only vegan but also a nutrient-rich product and can help maintain a healthy vegetarian/vegan lifestyle.

Ingredients in Marmite

Yeast extract – Yeast extract is a powder of yeast cells that are collected and dried to form a powder. Yeast extract is rich in B-complex vitamins, minerals, and amino acids. Yeast extract does not contain any animal products. Therefore it can be consumed by vegans.

Salt – Even though salt is not the number one nutrient people should consume in order to stay healthy, it is still important for the body to consume small amounts of salt.

Although consuming salt in large quantities can have negative side effects, it would be difficult to consume enough marmite which has a fairly high salt content to have any harmful effects. Since salt is sodium chloride, it can be consumed by vegans and vegetarians.

Vegetable juices – All of the vegetables in Unilever’s products are vegan. We can assume that the vegetable juices used in the Marmite recipe are likewise vegan and free from animal-derived inputs.

Natural Flavoring – It is unlikely that Marmite makers will disclose what exactly they put in to create their tasty flavor. This product appears to contain celery, which is an obvious vegan ingredient, and it can be assumed that any other natural flavorings they may have used are also vegan.

Vitamins (niacin, thiamin, riboflavin, folate, B12) – Due to the fact that marmite is a vegan product, it can safely be assumed that all vitamins added to it were either created synthetically or were obtained from plants, not from animals.

Ingredients to be mindful of

The parent company of marmite in New Zealand called Sanitarium purchased the distribution rights for marmite in New Zealand.

It is still real marmite, however, there may be some ingredients to be mindful of such as sugar. This is due to the fact that some sugar manufacturers filter and bleach sugar using bone char.

Bone char is a substance that is used in the production of sugar. It is made from animal bones that have been heated to high temperatures.

Sugar comes in two kinds.

Beat Sugar – The making of beet sugar starts with harvesting the beets and then washing them to remove dirt and other impurities. The beets are then shredded, boiled, and filtered to extract the juice. The juice is then heated until it becomes a syrup which can be further processed into crystallized sugars.

Cane sugar – Cane sugar is made by crushing the sugar cane and extracting the juice. The juice is then boiled until it becomes a thick syrup. The syrup is then cooled and crystallized to form granulated crystals of sugar.

It depends on the source from which Sanitarium gets its sugar, and the type of sugar included in Marmite NZ when determining whether its sugar is vegan. So if you are really strict about the source of your sugar consumption, you should be mindful of this fact.

Why should Marmite be in your Vegan pantry?

Marmite is an ideal addition to your vegan pantry because of its salty flavor which will help to satisfy your taste buds when you are craving something savory.

Not only marmite can add extra flavor to your breakfast, but there are also several ways in which marmite can boost your health because it is loaded with nutrients.

One of them is the vitamin thiamin, which helps maintain a healthy metabolism. In addition, it contributes to the proper functioning of the heart, nerves, and muscles. Marmite is also rich in niacin and riboflavin which are nutrients that aid the body in converting carbohydrates into energy.

For vegans, the most important factor in marmite is that it is a good source of vitamin B12. Vitamin B12 is vital for the synthesis of DNA and for the health of nerves and blood cells.

B12 deficiency is more common in vegans. Marmite, however, provides 25 percent of the daily requirement.

Are all Marmite products considered Vegan?

With the exception of the Marmite Orignal70g jar, most marmite products are vegan. In the 70g jar, there is only a vegetarian option – although they are working on getting approval from the European Vegan Union for vegan options as well.

Marmite’s other vegan products include the following:

  • Marmite XO
  • Marmite Reduced Salt Spread
  • Marmite Spread Yeast Extract
  • Marmite Squeezy Yeast Extract
  • Marmite Crunchy Peanut Butter

Who owns Marmite?

The British company Unilever owns the brand Marmite. It was founded in 1929 from the merger of Dutch margarine producer Margarine Unie and British soapmaker Lever Brothers. Unilever acquired Marmite from Best Foods when the two companies merged in 2000.

Marmite produces the product in a factory in Burton-on-Trent, England, and sells it under its own brand name.

Why is Marmite so popular?

The reason why marmite is popular today is due to the fact that it is not only vegan friendly but it also has also comes packed with different essential vitamins such as vitamin B12, thiamine, niacin, and riboflavin. It is also very versatile in that you can use it on anything you want to eat – bread, crackers, pastries, etc.

What is Marmite’s cruelty-free statement and animal testing policy?

While marmite does not have a cruelty-free statement of its own, Its parent company Unilever does produce non-vegan products as well for which animal testing is involved.

For this reason, many vegan customers are choosing other brands. However, it is important to note that Unilever is committed to ending animal testing and developing alternative testing methods in the future and Marmite itself is a cruelty-free product.


Is marmite vegan and is it good for you?

Yes, marmite is vegan. It is one of the best sources of B vitamins, including niacin, riboflavin thiamine, and B12 – all of which are essential to your health in various ways. So yes it is good for you.

Is marmite peanut butter vegan?

Yes, marmite peanut butter is vegan. It combines traditional Marmite with peanut butter, both of which are suitable for vegans.

Is marmite XO vegan?

Yes, Marmite XO does not contain any ingredients that are derived from animal products, therefore it is vegan.

Is marmite vegetarian?

Yes, marmite is perfectly suitable for vegetarians.

Is marmite only sold in the UK?

Marmite is not only sold in the UK but also in other countries such as Australia, Ireland, New Zealand, and South Africa.

Summary … So yes, Vegans can still enjoy their marmite on toast.

Marmite is a savory spread made from yeast extract, a by-product of beer brewing. It is popular in the United Kingdom and Ireland, where it has been produced since 1902.

Nevertheless, some vegans may choose to avoid their products due to the fact that Unilever, which owns Marmite, is not an especially ethical company because of its involvement in animal testing.

Is Marmite Vegan?

Marmite is a yeast extract spread that is made from yeast extract and various vegetable and fruit extracts. It is a thick, dark brown paste

Read More »

Leave a Reply